Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4’s campaign is playable ahead of the game’s full release. Activision opened Campaign Early Access on Steam on October 16, 2026, and confirmed the rollout in an official Steam Community announcement the same day. Players who digitally pre-ordered or pre-purchased a qualifying edition can start the sixteen-mission story immediately.
The campaign casts players as Private Park Hyun Jun, who fights alongside his squad against a full-scale invasion across the Korean Peninsula. In parallel, the operator-turned-outlaw John Price hunts “the one pulling the strings,” setting up the two narrative threads that the early access window lets players follow to completion. The build contains the full single-player narrative rather than a truncated preview.
Access is tied to a digital pre-order or pre-purchase. Activision lists the benefit as applying to the Standard Digital Edition or the Vault Edition on Steam and does not name any requirement beyond the purchase itself. The window remains open until the October 23 launch date, so players can work through all sixteen missions and bank their completion rewards before the full release.
The rollout is staggered across three dates. Campaign Early Access is live now, DMZ early access begins October 20, and the complete Modern Warfare 4 launch arrives October 23. Players who finish the campaign in the current window can move into DMZ when its early access opens.
Progress through the campaign unlocks sixteen completion rewards in a fixed order. Eight are Base Operators — Cho, Dallas, Luca, Oh-Ji, Kal, Dunn, West, and Park — playable characters that carry into Multiplayer and DMZ at launch. The rest are a “No More Rules” Calling Card, a “Ready Line” Loading Screen, a “Gone Dark” Emblem, three Double XP Tokens, and two Double Weapon XP Tokens. The XP tokens are the only consumable items; the operators and cosmetics are permanent unlocks.
The announcement confirms the access method, the sixteen-mission count, the full reward list, and the three launch dates. It does not state a global unlock time, does not cover console timing or physical editions, and does not specify whether the two editions differ in early access eligibility.
Sources
- Reporting source: GamerHeadlines
- Official announcement: Activision via Steam Community



